Please treat salesman with some respect…

Technically I am an Insurance and MF salesman. We salesmen meet our prospects from the position of weakness and not all people we meet treat us well. Rejections, disappointments are part of our job and we are usually OK with it. But sometimes things go awfully wrong.

I met a dentist in his clinic yesterday. I had called him a day before for an appointment and he happily agreed to meet me. I again called him half an hour before appointment for confirmation. This time also he was well spoken and asked me to come to his clinic.
When I reached his clinic on time, the dentist was yet to reach. I called him and he said that he is on his way and would reach within 5 minutes. There were no patients in the clinic and I was the only person waiting for him. The dentist did not arrive for next 30 minutes and by the time he reached 2 patients had come. This man rushed past us to his cabin wearing a look of attitude and superiority. He did notice me on his way to his cabin.
Since I had reached before patients, his assistant let me go in. I opened the door of his cabin and asked for permission to come in. He angrily looked at me and rudely said “Bahar ruko (wait outside)”. He then called his assistant and asked her to send patients in. I did feel bad for the way he talked to me but then I thought being a doctor his first duty is towards his patients and he is doing the right thing. This was an evening appointment and since I had no other appointment after that I chose to wait outside.

He made me wait outside for another one hour attending his patients. Every time the patient would come out I would look at his assistant and she would ask another patient to go in. After more than an hour like this I was the only person left in the clinic with no other patient and finally his assistant allowed me to go in.

This time I opened the door and politely asked him permission to come in. I was responded with an arrogant nod of head. I settled in a chair in front of him. I introduced myself and started by asking whether he invests in MF (since I had specifically taken this appt. for MF).
He said “Mai faltu chijo me invest nahi karta (I don’t invest in useless things)”.
I said “No problem sir. Where do you invest?”
“I invest only in property and LIC” he replied.
I politely asked “how much investments go into LIC Sir?”
As I asked this, he looked at me with such a bad stare and facial expression as if bad odor is coming out of my body and he is not being able to bear it.
He said “Ded do lakh dalta hu mai saalke(I put 1.5 L to 2 L every year)”
I said “Don’t you think sir, even LIC is a Mutual Fund if we keep aside insurance part of it?”
Very rudely he replied “Sab pata hai mereko. Tumhare MF me invest hi nahi karna mujhe. Dusra kuch hai to bolo (I know all of this. I don’t want to invest in your MF. If you have anything else to say then speak)”
Sensing that there is no point spending time with this man, I took out my visiting card and held it out to him saying “Here is my card Sir. If you feel like investing in MF in future, I would love to assist you.”
Again very rudely he said “Wo card wagaire mai nahi rakhta. Merepass number hai tumhara. Jarurat padi to call kar dunga (I don’t keep those cards. I have your number. If required I will call you)” And he gestured me to get out.

I thanked him and left his cabin wondering what made this man behave like this with me. I took out my phone and put him a message thanking him for giving me time to meet him. Immediately his reply came asking me not to send any further messages.
I thought if he did not want to listen to anything I had to say, then why did he ask me to come to meet him? Why did he make me wait for more than one and half hour outside his cabin? Why did he give me appointment at all? Did he want to teach me a lesson? Did he want to show me my place? Or he wanted to prove that he is smarter than all the salesmen and he knows how to treat them? Doesn’t he have any sense of how to behave with fellow human beings? Who does he think he is? He doesn’t deserve any good adviser to work for him. He is better with his LIC agent who sold him endowment policies. Good things come only to good people. He surely doesn’t deserve me as his Adviser.

I do face rejections almost every day but nobody ever treated me like this. I kept driving for more than half an hour though my home was just 5 minute’s drive away from this doctor’s clinic. . This man really hurt my ego very badly. I would have surely ended up smoking heavily had I not promised my fiancé not to touch cigrate again. I deleted his number from my mobile and tried to forget this incidence but he kept coming to my mind. When I reached home, I could not even eat my dinner. I tried to watch TV but couldn’t watch it. I tried to read Dnyaneshwari (Marathi commentary on Gita) before sleeping but couldn’t read much of it either. I slept at night with this hurt.

Why don’t some people understand that salesman is also a human being. He also has emotions like everybody else. He also feels bad when rejected and ill-treated though it is part of his job. He does not like to disturb and irritate people either but it is part of his job and he has to do it to earn bread and butter for his family.

For God’s sake please treat salesman with some respect…

36 thoughts on “Please treat salesman with some respect…

  1. Dear Swapnil, there are all sorts of people in this world. We can not change others but we can change ourselves. So next time, you face a similar person, at least you know in advance what you may get in return.

    Thanks

    Ashal

  2. Swapnil, may be next time onwards you can do something like my friend did.Similar thing happened to one of my friend. He waited almost 1 hour for the meeting. And when the meeting started, within 2 minutes my friend told this “Sorry sir, I cannot work with you. The person who does not value his own money, time and words, he can not value my time and advice”. The other person did not know what to tell and my friend left his place happily.

  3. Hi Swapnil may be the doctor had a bad time with someone, maybe his wife and you happened to be there at the wrong time, when you saw his attitude you should not have met him, you should have left and then sms him . see now you are giving him bad words like fucking , you also get angry. Its human nature

  4. Hi Swapnil may be the doctor had a fight with his wife or someone else and you happened to be there at the wrong time, when you were told to go out you should have left immediately and sms him next day for another appointment. Right now when I read ur post you were also angry calling him names like fucking Lic etc, when you were angry if ur family member advices you you would get angry on them also, its human nature. So chill enjoy being a sales guy. Happy selling.

  5. This just professional hazard.
    If you take your job personally, no matter your profession, you will end up feeling the way you felt.
    From a fellow Sales Manager.

  6. Take it easy. Relax. Everyday its almost difficult to come across good people. This happens specially when the appointment is done through cold-calling.
    Take this as an experience & develop a thick skin for future. And yes, respect your time management. Also try to send the message to your prospects that your time is valuable & that you respect your prospects time..

  7. Swapnil, sorry for the bitter experience you had. But not everyone is like that person. I agree with a comment above that he might be in a bad mood or had had a bad experience and you just happened to be at the wrong place at wrong time. But still it doesn’t give anyone any right to treat a human being like that. Also, you need to keep your emotional and professional sides separate. I happen to work in a very fast moving zone where things have to be done in a matter of minutes. At times my senior talks rudely and loses his temper in the heat of the moment. You need to be passive to such things. Take the positive from each incident and forget the negative. ATB and B+ve 🙂

  8. Hey Swapnil… Don’t get driven with it. No offense. Most of (if not all) doctors think that they’re smarter than the rest of human race. It’s not just salesmen, they often treat their patients like this too. I’ve been in the same boat, many times.
    They think that they’re the most literate people on the planet. I wonder what makes them think that they’re better than everyone else.
    Certainly, there’re exceptions to such characteristics and I truely respect their profession. But, those who think they’re playing God must take lessons from some others in their own community who are making their profession a noble one.

  9. As an IFA, I can relate to each and every word of what you have written or what you must have gone through..Only thing I want to add is its actually WE Agents / Distributors who ourselves behave like sheeps and give clients with sense of superiority..It should be an Equal situation, where both parties should mutually understand / respect each other; be it skillwise or knowledgewise…In this particular case, you should not have waited for such a long time. It might have given the client (Doctor) a sense that this guy is VELLA (we Delhi guys use this term for one who does not have anything to do) and that is why he is sitting outside of my office for so long..You should have told him IMMEDIATELY when he started attending clients that – Respected Sir, it would be better that we meet on some other time as me too have some urgent work to finish…
    BTW – Shit happens 🙂

  10. That’s v sad to hear swapnil…!
    I came across to such clients lot of times too. Many times I found that people calls u …took information and required material but invest on their own without giving credit to the provided information and time. Rightly said by you that we should treated by respect.

  11. Dear Swapnil,
    I really felt bad reading this post my friend. It is not about treating salesman or MF distributor. It is mainly about showing respect towards other person which he is lacking. That idiot fits to be in a Jungle and surely not among us. Unfortunately we are surrounded by some animals like these. If we ever face them, Please ignore them and move on. Easy to say and hard to follow I know. But Just Relax and treat this as a experience to know how to deal with such morons. All the very best my friend 🙂

  12. Dear Swapnil,
    In your life you will meet lot of people who will treat you either good or bad way, so its up to you how you will deal with it.
    First time you can ignore the bad behavior but for second time its good to end the conversation politely.
    So chill dude and do not take someone else’s stupidity seriously.

  13. Dear Swapnil,
    You have shared your bad experience. I too had gone through similar experience in my sales career. When I was into sales of Computer peripherals around 18 years back, I entered a company and introduced myself to the receptionist. After making me wait for sometime, she asked me to go inside. When I went inside, I think the person was in a meeting and he yelled at me – Who the hell gave you the permission to come here – Get OUT. Similar to you, I was also broken and felt sad why the hell I chose this profession. Today, after almost 20 years later I am still in Sales and I train the new sales people how to handle these situations.
    Don’t worry Sales is a very good profession. These kind of situations should make us strong and help us to handle such people.
    Regards,
    Vinay

  14. Chill dude, u wrote this article because u met some a$$hole.
    try n think about those awesome people with whom u hit it off & struck a nice deal.
    so chill.

  15. Yes such things happens once in while with most of the sales persons. Same thing happened to one of my adviser also. I am working in i private organisation n we use to meet every month in our regional office. When i inquired with all my colleagues about their investments it was surprising that nobody did any investments. They were happy with LIC & RD’s only. When my adviser n myself explained about the investments in Mutual Funds in detail with the proof how i benefited. Then they hv shown their interest n finally 2 of them came forward out of 9. Now the number is 7 and other 2 were not at all decided n my adviser still meeting them since a year during their cycle meet.
    All those 7 colleagues are very happy with their investments n they are remembering both of us for forcing them to invest in MF. That other 2 are still under confusion n not yet decided.
    We being Sales persons should have patience then only we ll succeed. People directly looking for honey not at bees. Kick back the such people n go ahead.. Happily……..

  16. hi swapnil, no doubt this is one of those bad experiences that you dont want to encounter but it’s part of our profile. but you should not had waited for so long. ratherleft after half hour after your scheduled time of appointment, leaving your card with the assistant teling her that since dr. is busy and you have another very important person to meet and also asking her to confirm her if the dr. asked for you or you’ll call after your next meeting gets over. this gives the dr. a message that you are busy and others people look forward to your advice. you might had called this dr. after 2 hours asking him that you’r sorry for not being able to wait for any longer and re-schedule your appointment, if dr. wants. that should be the attitude.

  17. hi swapnil, no doubt this is one of those bad experiences that you don’t want to encounter but it’s part of our profile. you should not had waited for so long. rather left after half hour after your scheduled time of appointment. and call later to reschedule the time if the prospect want. you’d not depend on him but move on to the next. that should be the attitude. the long wait has is the real reason for your pain.

  18. Don’t feel bad if someone rejects you.People usually reject expensive things because they can’t afford them… WE ARE VERY EXPENSIVE THINGS MR SWAPNIL.

  19. I sympathise with you for what you faced. As all have advised these are part and parcel in the customer facing industry. Don’t let yourself down. You are good and keep up the hard work. Request you to read about http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Girard. This guy wore an emblem of ‘1’ on his tie to tell the people that he is the number one and if not will become the Number 1. Take this as learning experience. Success and more success will come to your way.

  20. Dear Swapnil,
    The dentist seems to be arrogant but you should not feel like that at all. Selling is never an easy job and you are well aware of the fact. Especially when it comes to selling Insurance.
    Some people carry garbage with them and search for someone on whom they can dump the garbage.
    You have done with your part and that too wholeheartedly.
    All people are not like the same. Might be the dentist going through some trauma in his personal life. Give him benefit of doubt and move on. There is so much to do in life my friend.
    I’m also in Insurance selling and I can understand what you might be feeling at the moment. Don’t blame yourself nor the salesmanship.
    And don’t call yourself a SALESMAN. You are a Financial Advisor. Remember that.
    Remember, in sales SKY IS THE LIMIT.
    All the best. 🙂

  21. Pingback: From the Diary of a Redeemed Agent | Theme Frugal

Leave a comment